Edmonton Police Service logo

Commitment to Professionalism - Reduced Crime & Victimization - Investigative Excellence - Increased Efficiency & Effectiveness
Copyright © 2022, Edmonton Police Service. All rights reserved.

Edmonton Police Service

Dedicated to Protect, Proud to Serve

Air-1 Crew Receives Prestigious Awards


Edmonton Police Service Constables Chris Anderson and Tyler Tebbutt received the Airborne Law Enforcement Association (ALEA) Captain ‘Gus’ Crawford Memorial Aircrew of the Year Award for 2016.

Cst. Anderson displaying his TFO of the year recognition.

Cst. Anderson was also named the ALEA Tactical Flight Officer of the Year (TFO).  The awards were presented at the ALEA Expo in Savannah, Georgia on July 22, 2016.

Both awards were based on the pursuit and capture of two suspects in multiple incidents in early December 2015.*   “Having our unit recognized with two awards is a great honour,” said Staff Sergeant Troy Carriere.  “These awards reflect the professionalism, experience and perseverance our Air 1 members bring to work every day.”

Cst. Chris Anderson has been a member of the EPS for 11 years and has been a full time TFO for the past three-and-a-half years.   Cst. Tyler Tebbutt has been a member of the EPS for eight years and a police pilot for the past five years.  

The Captain ‘Gus’ Crawford Memorial Aircrew of the Year Award acknowledges a pilot and/or crewmember(s) whose flying efforts and proficiency characterize ALEA’s motto, “To Serve and Protect from the Air.”

Captain Gus Crawford was a law enforcement aviation pioneer and the commanding officer of the New York Police Department (NYPD) Aviation Bureau at the time of its founding.

The TFO award identifies and recognizes a flight crewmember whose performance in the operation of tactical equipment and/or coordination of ground-based assets was exemplary and resulted in the successful conclusion of a call or mission.

Constables Tyler Tebbutt and Chris Anderson with the ALEA Captain ‘Gus’ Crawford Memorial Airborne Crew of the year award.
Constables Tyler Tebbutt and Chris Anderson with the ALEA Captain ‘Gus’ Crawford Memorial Aircrew of the year award.


*In December 2015, Southwest Division patrol members witnessed a truck collide with their parked police vehicle and flee southbound on 109 Street from 82 Avenue. Upon fleeing the area, the occupants abandoned the vehicle and attempted to steal other vehicles at gunpoint. AIR 1, crewed by Cst. Chris Anderson and Cst. Tyler Tebbutt, was able to locate the abandoned truck and the two suspects in a residential neighborhood and directed police to their location. Prior to being apprehended by ground units, the two suspects stole another vehicle and fled the area. The criminal flight response was terminated, but AIR 1 maintained visual contact as the vehicle drove in excess of 150 km/hr through south Edmonton with zero regard for public safety. With AIR 1 watching, the vehicle came to a stop at a convenience store and its occupants committed an armed robbery. The vehicle again fled the area into Sherwood Park, where the AIR 1 crew coordinated a successful pit manoeuver by a Canine Unit, leading to the arrest of the two occupants.